‘The Other Bali’

we have just spent two nights down in seminyak near the tourist mecca of kuta and legian because our boys wanted to see the 'other bali' – the bali of surf and pub-crawl culture in kuta, of cosmopolitan designer boutiques in seminyak, the bali of total traffic jams (it took us one hour yesterday to drive a distance of 8kms/5miles!) and gourmet restaurants, the bali where the rich and beautiful come to play and the poor and down-trodden workers (imported from other islands) build another five-star resort for them…

it's overcrowded and polluted, it's not my world, and yet, the balinese manage to infuse it with beauty with their big smiles and their patience and a sense or natural artistry.

here are a few snapshots that you would't find in the glam mags…

_IGP2081

 

_IGP2072

_IGP2074

_IGP2087

_IGP2094

_IGP2090

_IGP2098

_IGP2091

_IGP2104

_IGP2106

_IGP2099

_IGP2088

2 thoughts on “‘The Other Bali’

  1. I am enjoying your photos of Bali, while I have never been there myself I do find I like your Bali better than the Bali I hear my tourist friends visit.

Leave a Reply

